Literary Magazine Review | Capsule Stories Spring Issue ‘In Bloom’

So a disclaimer: my poem is in this magazine, and I got a free contributor copy so I am a little biased, but I thought I’d write a post anyway because I’ve read through all the other pieces, and they’re just so good.

Capsule Stories is a quarterly magazine that has themed issues every season, often vaguely connected to the current season. They “have a penchant for pretty words, an affinity to the melancholy, and an undeniably time-ful aura.” And that shows in the pieces they pick.

A mix of poetry and fiction, this issue is filled with stories of hope and of grief, dying and blooming, the bitter-sweetness of the new spring and a survived winter. What struck me most is the rich variety in styles and types of subjects, while still all fitting within the theme. Also the great quality of every single piece!

Some pieces I especially loved are:
I Told You It Takes Me Hours to Water My Houseplants by AJ Buckle
I Pray and I Deceive by Hila Messer
A Coffin Is Not a Cocoon by E. E. Rhodes
Crickets in the Bathroom by Eli Vandell
Elegy in Spring by L. Kardon

If you want a copy, you can find links here and also find it on Waterstones. Oh, and before you go, read my own poem ‘this spring’ here ;). I’ll have another piece out in the next issue, so watch this space!

Trigger Warnings: added for each individual piece on the title page

~

~

~ Follow Me ~

~~~~tumblr    twitter    instagram    goodreads    facebook

One thought on “Literary Magazine Review | Capsule Stories Spring Issue ‘In Bloom’

Leave a comment